MAJORS, MINORS, AND AREAS OF CONCENTRATION

At Dalton State College, all credit-based programs of study include a major or area of concentration, and some students elect to earn minors as well. Each of these terms is defined as a group of courses, organized in a coherent and focused manner, that includes content and student learning experiences directly related to the specialization incorporated within each program of study. The term "area of concentration" is used to define the specialization within mini-certificate, certificate, and degree programs. The terms "major" and "minor" are used to define specialization within bachelor's degree programs. Some bachelor's degrees also include a concentration depending upon major requirements.

The **minimum** numbers of semester credit hours required by program type for a major or area of concentration are shown below.

Program	Hours
Bachelor's Degree	30
Associate of Arts/Science Degree	18
Associate of Science in Nursing Degree	37
Associate of Applied Science Degree	36
Certificate	21
Mini-Certificate	8

A minor in Appalachian Studies includes 15 semester hours of coursework, including at least 9 hours of upper-division courses at the 3000-4000 level. At least two of the upper-division courses must be taken in residency at Dalton State College. Courses taken to satisfy Core IMPACTS may not be counted toward completion of the minor. Courses taken in the Field of Study may sometimes be used to fulfill minor requirements.